Our Gold Sponsors
Our Gold Sponsors
Click Here

Bigfork runs away from Anaconda in Western B matchup

BIGFORK — An early lead for Anaconda quickly turned into an impressive win for the hometown Vikings. Anaconda led 7-0 after their first drive but Bigfork scored 46 unanswered to win 46-7 in their Western B opener. 
Anaconda’s stats were skewed due to the loss of starting QB and middle linebacker Braxton Hill to an injured shoulder and starting running back and outside linebacker Gabe Byrne  in the second quarter. Bigfork pounced with a dominant running game from a bevy of backs led by junior Randy Stultz. 
Stultz ran for 173 yards on 21 carries with three TDs and a two-point conversion run. He also caught two passes for 48 yards and completed a pass for 30 yards. All told, Bigfork rushed for 326 yards on the night. 
Before his exit, Hill completed 10-of-14 for 118 yards and a TD. He hooked up with senior receiver Trent Mikalatos on a 21-yard slant 9:30 remaining in the first quarter to take the 7-0 lead. Junior Luke Jensen took over QB duties late in the second going 3-for-11 for 48 yards and two interceptions. 
Afterwards, the running game of Bigfork used their superior speed off tackle to frustrate the Copperheads. 
Bigfork QB Augie Emslie was 5-of-11 for 79 yards, but the passing game was used only to keep the Copperheads guessing. 
Anaconda’s Bobby Swainston led the team in receptions, grabbing five for 80 yards. Mikalatos hauled in 4-73 and Jensen grabbled three for 14 yards. 
Anaconda (1-1, 0-1) will host Deer Lodge next week at Mitchell Stadium. 
Anaconda 7 0 0 0 — 7
Bigfork 6 14 14 12 — 46
PASSING — AHS 13-25-166-1-3 (Hill 10-14-118, 1-1, Jensen 3-11-48-0-2). BF 6-13-109-0-1 (Emslie 5-11-79-0-1, Stultz 1-1-30-0-0). 
RECEIVING — AHS (Swainston 5-80, Mikalatos 4-73, Jensen 3-14, Byrne 1-9). BF (Austin Varner 2-18, Stultz 2-48, Anders Epperly 1-30, Logan Taylor 1-13). 
RUSHING — AHS 16-(-23) (Hill 6-10, Byrne 4-14, Anderson 4-19, Matt Ryan 3-7, Jensen 1-3, Team 2-(-57)). BF 50-326 (Stultz 21-173, 14-88, 2-10, LaFontaine 12-52, Hines 1-10, Emslie 1-(-1), Luke Schmit 1-(-2)). 

About Author